Seal of Dane County County of Dane
The Tamara D. Grigsby Office for Equity and Inclusion

Equal Opportunity Commission

Dane County Ordinance 15.12 creates the Equal Opportunity Commission. The commission advises the County Executive and the County Board on ways that county government can affirmatively create equal opportunity for all Dane County residents. This includes policy advise and oversight of the Affirmative Action Ordinance (DCO Chapter 19). The commission also advises ways to promote full participation of traditionally under represented populations in Dane County Employment and in broader community life, including but not limited to housing, recreation, economic development, and social and political life. The Commission also serves a resource for County Government on matters pertaining to the County’s diverse population.

Who is on the Equal Opportunity Commission?

The Commission consists of nine members, who serve a term of three years in staggered terms. At least two members of the Commission must be Dane County Board of Supervisor. No more than one member may be a Dane County Employee.

The County Executive appoints individuals to the Commission. In making appointments to the commission, the Executive gives consideration to a membership that reflects the gender, racial, and ethnic characteristics of the community, including people with disabilities.

How Frequently does the Equal Opportunity Commission Meet?

The Commission typically meets once a month. A schedule of past and upcoming meetings is available here.

How can I apply to be a part of the Commission?

Click here to view the current vacancies and apply to serve on Dane County Commissions.